Introduction (or “What Have I Gotten Myself Into?”)

I’m a creative type, an artist, and in an amazing contradiction to “my people,” I’m usually very organized. But you wouldn’t know that to look around my house. The clutter has taken on a life of its own, and in so doing, it’s become overwhelming, chaotic, and energy-draining.

So now I’m here to document and celebrate my progress (because I learn far more from the journey than the destination) as I clear away the clutter.

How did I get here if I’m allegedly so organized? It’s easy to do. Follow these easy steps:

  1. Begin with a small home (<1200 sq ft).
  2. Have children (toddlers to teens) in your home for at least one hour a day. Bonus points if they’re in your home over an entire weekend or during summer break from school.
  3. Inherit all the stuff that had too much sentimental value from your parents and your partner’s parents.
  4. Run at least one business out of your home.
  5. Renovate your home while living in it.

I’ve learned that I like clean, simple lines and clear spaces. Clutter makes me feel trapped, confused, and anxious. I live in a 98-year-old Craftsman-style bungalow that we’re renovating to 1) bring it up to code and 2) restore it to its 1918 awesomeness while also allowing for modern conveniences.

I welcome you to join me as I clear away the clutter, rehoming some things, recycling others, releasing things that don’t bring me joy, and creating the home of my dreams.

